Two-component canister system · Documents read September 8, 2026
HandiFoam Low Density (open cell) II-250, II-450 and II-1350
The only open-cell product in the category with a data sheet, and the sheet is candid where others are not: the fire result is a Class B at 4 in, printed as such, the R-value is aged, and the sound numbers that sell open cell, STC 35 and NRC 0.70, come with a thickness and an assembly type rather than floating free.
The claim, in the maker's words
"Low pressure, low density, two-component spray polyurethane foam. Designed to fill and seal various size voids, deaden sound or reduce vibration." STC 35 and NRC 0.70 at 3 in. Nothing on this page was sprayed or tested by us. Every figure names the document or listing it came from, and where the maker publishes nothing the row says so rather than staying blank.
What HandiFoam states, and on what basis
| Kit sizes | II-250 (250 board feet), II-450 (450 board feet), II-1350 (1,350 board feet) disposable kits |
|---|---|
| Stated yield | 250, 450 and 1,350 board feetFree-rise density basis with the same packing caveat as the FR sheet |
| R-value | R-4.3 at 1 in, aged 90 days at 140 FASTM C518, aged value printedOne aged figure at one thickness. Note the aging condition, 90 days at 140 F, is not the condition on the FR sheet, so the two aged numbers are not measured the same way. |
| Fire | ASTM E84 flame spread 50, smoke developed 400, tested at 4 in: Class 2 (B), stated as such |
| Density | 0.75 lb/ft3 free rise, 1.12 in place; closed-cell content 5 percent |
| Cure | Tack-free 30 to 45 seconds |
| Hose | Disposable kit hose; length not stated on the sheet |
| Reuse | Shelf life 12 months |
| Protective equipment | As the FR sheet: certified respiratory protection or PAPR, eye protection, nitrile gloves, protective clothing; professional use only |
| Who the maker says it is for | "For professional use only" |
Our reading
The only open-cell product in the category with a data sheet, and the sheet is candid where others are not: the fire result is a Class B at 4 in, printed as such, the R-value is aged, and the sound numbers that sell open cell, STC 35 and NRC 0.70, come with a thickness and an assembly type rather than floating free. It also describes the test wall: 5/8 in OSB outside, one layer of type X gypsum inside, 2 by 4 studs and 3 in of foam. It gives no stud spacing and no reading for the same wall without foam, so the share of the 35 that belongs to the foam is not stated. A buyer who reads this sheet and the FR sheet together has a useful start on the open-versus-closed question, not the whole decision.
Still open
- Only one Amazon listing, a four-pack at $2,102.79 with two ratings.
- Hose length not on the sheet.
Documents on file
- TDS HandiFoam Low Density Disposable technical data sheet A16531 Rev 6/2024
- SDS Low Density B-side SDS A16180B September 2018
- SDS Two-component A-side SDS A16178A February 2018
Listings, September 7, 2026 snapshot
| Listing | Price | Rating | Ratings | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Open cell kit, pack of 4 | $2102.79 | 3.5 | 2 | Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That fee never sets the order or the score.
The other open cell kits
All 8 kit families side by sideQuestions and answers
Questions about HandiFoam Low Density (open cell) II-250, II-450 and II-1350
Answered from this product’s documents and listings, the same records the rest of this page is built from.
-
What does HandiFoam claim the HandiFoam Low Density covers? From the records
250, 450 and 1,350 board feet Free-rise density basis with the same packing caveat as the FR sheet
-
Does HandiFoam publish a data sheet for the HandiFoam Low Density? From the records
Yes. HandiFoam Low Density Disposable technical data sheet A16531, Rev 6/2024.
-
Can the HandiFoam Low Density be left exposed? From the records
Not as a general rule, whatever its fire class. The 2021 IRC asks for a thermal barrier between foam plastic and the interior of the building, and a Class A surface-burning result is not that barrier. The code carries narrow exceptions that depend on the exact product and the assembly: an ignition barrier instead of a thermal barrier in attics and crawl spaces entered only to service utilities (R316.5.3 and R316.5.4), and the sill plate and header exception (R316.5.11) where installed thickness, density and both surface-burning indices meet its limits. Whether this kit qualifies for one is a question for its own documents and your local authority.
A Class A surface-burning result does not let the foam stay bare. The 2021 IRC asks for a thermal barrier between foam plastic and the interior of the building, with a narrower ignition barrier rule for attics and crawl spaces entered only to service utilities, and the band joist is a third case with numeric limits of its own. The hub page sets out which rule applies where. Read the rating method and our editorial policy.
HandiFoam has a right of reply
Everything on this page is a dated reading of documents that can change. If you make or sell this product, or you have read something here that is wrong, send the document. Every submission is read against the record; where it changes the record, the change is dated on the page, and where it does not, the reply says why. A submission cannot buy a position or remove a finding the documents still support, and what moves a record is written down.
Write to the research desk or copy research@beestsprayfoam.com
