Two-component canister system · Documents read September 8, 2026

Vega Bond Open Cell Spray Foam Insulation Kit

One of two open-cell kits among the products we tracked as of September 8, 2026, and the one that states a density and an air-barrier thickness.

open cell No data sheet found Yield basis not stated

The claim, in the maker's words

"Vega Bond features a 1 lb/ft3 density, providing stronger sound absorption and improved thermal performance, with an R-Value of 4.4 per inch ... Acts as an air barrier at 2 inches."
vbinsulation.com product page, read September 8, 2026

Nothing on this page was sprayed or tested by us. Every figure names the document or listing it came from, and where the maker publishes nothing the row says so rather than staying blank.

What Vega Bond states, and on what basis

Kit sizes320 sq ft coverage kit with 10 ft hose; 1,100 sq ft coverage kit
Stated yield320 or 1,100 sq ftStated as coverage; thickness not stated on the store. The maker quotes the figure without defining it, so it cannot be checked against a thickness.
R-valueR-4.4 per inchStore statement; no method or aging basisOne per-inch figure from a store page, with no thickness, method or aging basis attached.
Fire"ASTM E84 Class A Rated, low flame spread and smoke"; no indices. The class is stated without the two numbers that produce it
Density1 lb/ft3, stated as higher than "standard half-pound open-cell foam"
CureNot stated
Hose10 ft with the 320 kit
ReuseNot stated
Protective equipmentNot stated on the open cell page
Who the maker says it is for"DIY users and contractors alike"

Cost against the yield the maker itself states

One row per kit size where a single price maps to a single stated yield. The unit is the maker's own: DuPont states square feet at a thickness and HandiFoam states board feet. At a stated 1-inch thickness the two are the same volume, so 200 sq ft at 1 in equals 200 nominal board feet; that conversion keeps the maker's theoretical-yield basis and predicts nothing about field yield. Prices are the September 7, 2026 snapshot. Prices are snapshots, each dated where it appears, not live figures, so check the seller before you pay.

KitPriceStated yieldPer stated unitChannel
320 sq ft kit $399.99 320 sq ft $1.25 per sq ft Brand store
1,100 sq ft kit $799.99 1,100 sq ft $0.73 per sq ft Brand store

Our reading

One of two open-cell kits among the products we tracked as of September 8, 2026, and the one that states a density and an air-barrier thickness. The R-4.4 figure is close to what HandiFoam prints from a named ASTM test for its lower-density open cell, which is worth noticing; Vega Bond gives no method. Coverage is stated without a thickness, so the two kit sizes cannot be turned into board feet from the page alone.

Still open

  • Coverage stated without thickness.
  • No document of any kind.

Documents on file

Listings, September 7, 2026 snapshot

ListingPriceRatingRatings
Open cell kit, with hose and gunThe Amazon page did not load for our read on September 8; price and zero ratings are from the September 7 intake $399.99 none 0 Amazon

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That fee never sets the order or the score.

The other open cell kits

All 8 kit families side by side

Questions and answers

Questions about Vega Bond Open Cell Spray Foam Insulation Kit

Answered from this product’s documents and listings, the same records the rest of this page is built from.

Ask your own
  1. What does Vega Bond claim the Vega Bond Open Cell covers? From the records

    320 or 1,100 sq ft The maker does not define what the figure means, so it cannot be checked against a thickness.

  2. Does Vega Bond publish a data sheet for the Vega Bond Open Cell? From the records

    Not on any channel we read as of September 8, 2026. What exists is listed on this page with what each document does and does not cover.

  3. Can the Vega Bond Open Cell be left exposed? From the records

    Not as a general rule, whatever its fire class. The 2021 IRC asks for a thermal barrier between foam plastic and the interior of the building, and a Class A surface-burning result is not that barrier. The code carries narrow exceptions that depend on the exact product and the assembly: an ignition barrier instead of a thermal barrier in attics and crawl spaces entered only to service utilities (R316.5.3 and R316.5.4), and the sill plate and header exception (R316.5.11) where installed thickness, density and both surface-burning indices meet its limits. Whether this kit qualifies for one is a question for its own documents and your local authority.

A Class A surface-burning result does not let the foam stay bare. The 2021 IRC asks for a thermal barrier between foam plastic and the interior of the building, with a narrower ignition barrier rule for attics and crawl spaces entered only to service utilities, and the band joist is a third case with numeric limits of its own. The hub page sets out which rule applies where. Read the rating method and our editorial policy.

Vega Bond has a right of reply

Everything on this page is a dated reading of documents that can change. If you make or sell this product, or you have read something here that is wrong, send the document. Every submission is read against the record; where it changes the record, the change is dated on the page, and where it does not, the reply says why. A submission cannot buy a position or remove a finding the documents still support, and what moves a record is written down.

Write to the research desk or copy research@beestsprayfoam.com