Exact documents
Evidence must match the product, formulation, size and tested application.
Best Research Rating
Every point in our rating comes from a document or a listing you can open. Popularity and advertising are capped so they cannot decide the order, missing evidence scores zero rather than a penalty, and our own opinion sits beside the score as a labeled confidence level that never touches the arithmetic. No brand receives points merely for its name or country of origin.
Research rating
Scores describe the evidence a buyer can find, not laboratory performance we measured. A product with few points is undocumented rather than poor, and a product can move up the moment a document lands. Every line shows the fact behind it so the arithmetic can be checked or disputed.
| Group | Points | What it measures |
|---|---|---|
| Product documentation | 30 | What the maker publishes about the product, and whether it can be read. |
| Claim traceability | 20 | Whether a document can be attached to the pack you are buying, and whether the maker behind it can be identified. |
| What you get | 9 | Equipment in the box and material in the pack. Eleven of the thirteen scored kits take full marks here, so the block separates little, which is why it is one of the small ones. |
| Price per ounce of product | 15 | Kit price divided by the net ounces of foam, not by a claimed board foot. Where a maker publishes only a gross can weight, or does not say which its figure is, the line is not computable and says so. |
| Buyer feedback | 20 | Ratings from the marketplace, Amazon’s bought-in-past-month badge across the product’s pack sizes, and the review base on the maker’s own store. The badge is Amazon’s estimate of recent purchasers on the listings we could read, not a count of units shipped and not a measure of quality or safety. The block is capped at twenty and the documentation block is one and a half times its weight, so a large buyer base cannot outweigh the paperwork on its own. |
| Buying options | 6 | How easy the product is to actually buy: how many pack sizes you can pick from in one place, and how many shops carry it. This is convenience rather than evidence, which is why it is the smallest block on the card. |
| Line | Max | How the points are awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Technical data sheet | 12 | Published on the maker’s own site with a date and a revision, 12. Published there without them, 6. Where the sheet is not on the maker’s site but its customer support sent one on request and we could match it to the product, the tier scores one point less, because a document a buyer has to ask for is not a document a buyer can check before buying. Nothing sent, or something sent that could not be matched to the product, 0. A sheet that carries a dated update line instead of a revision number counts as having both, because the point of the criterion is that a reader can tell which version they are holding. A specification block on a product page is not a data sheet here, however much it lists. It carries no date and no revision, it is not a file a buyer can keep, and it can be rewritten without leaving the old version behind, which is the thing this criterion exists to test. |
| Safety data sheet | 6 | Published on the maker’s own site, 6, wherever on that site it sits. Not on the site but sent by customer support on request and matched to the product, 5. Nothing sent, or something sent that could not be matched, 0. A brand at zero here has not been marked as having no sheet: it means we could not read one, and the way to settle it is to ask the seller. |
| Fire evidence | 12 | Both indices at a stated thickness with no internal conflict, 12. The same with a conflicting line on the sheet, 8. Incomplete numbers, 4. A claim with no numbers, 0. Where the result is not on the maker’s site but its support sent a test report on request and we could match that report to the product, the tier scores one point less. A report that arrives without the brand name on it, or that describes a foam other than the one being sold, cannot be matched and scores nothing. |
| Net contents per can | 4 | Published and the same everywhere, 4. Published but channels disagree, 2. Not published, 0. |
| Yield stated with its conditions | 4 | Layer, distance and speed given, 4. A number with partial conditions, 2. None, 0. |
| R-value, published and how high | 4 | Two halves. Publication: stated at a thickness on two or more channels that agree, 3; stated on one channel only, contradicted between channels, or printed only on a sibling listing, 1.5; not stated in a usable form, 0. A figure on one channel has nothing to be checked against, which is why it sits in the middle tier whether or not anything contradicts it, and the tier is the same for every product in that position. Magnitude: R-5.6 an inch or better adds 1, R-4.5 to just under 5.6 adds 0.5, below that adds nothing. The magnitude is the maker’s published figure rather than an independent test, read from the same publication the first half scores; two products that both print a figure are not equal if one insulates half as well at the same thickness. |
| Density published | 4 | A density with its test method, printed on this product’s own document, 4. None, 0. This is the condition the rim-joist exception needs and almost nobody prints. A figure on another product’s sheet is not transferred, however closely the two sheets otherwise agree: shared values are not evidence of a shared formulation, and only a document from the maker that names this product can carry the figure across. Where a sheet labels the line specific gravity but prints it in lb/ft3, it is read as a density, because lb/ft3 is a density unit and specific gravity has none; ASTM D1622 is the density test for rigid cellular plastics. |
| Maker identity | 4 | Two tests. One: a legal entity named on the product’s own document with a way to reach it. Two: a corporate site, separate from the shop, that publishes this product’s documents. Both, 4. One, 3. Neither, but a trade name with a published physical address on the brand’s own site, 2. A name on a marketplace listing only, or a storefront shared with other brands, 1. Nobody identifiable on any channel, 0. This reads what is published about who stands behind the product, not how well known the name is: reputation cannot be checked by a reader and does not belong in a score. |
| Equipment in the box | 5 | Gun, cleaner and protective equipment, 5. Partial, 3. Cans only, 0. |
| Material in the pack | 4 | Total ounces published, 4. Not published so it cannot be compared, 0. |
| Cost per ounce of product | 15 | Points = 15 x 0.484 / (price per ounce), capped at 15 and rounded to one decimal. The benchmark of 0.484 dollars an ounce is fixed: it was the lowest figure in the set when the rubric was written on September 7, 2026, and holding it fixed means adding a product never moves another product’s score. Price per ounce is the kit price divided by the net ounces of foam, so a kit that includes a gun and cleaner is compared on its whole price. Where a maker sells direct, the price used is the price that store puts on the pack this site compares; where it does not, it is a marketplace price for the same kit rather than for the cans alone. Where the pack this site compares had no readable price on the read date, the nearest priced pack of the same product is used, the ounces are that pack’s ounces, and the line names both packs. Where net contents are not published, or the only figure is not stated as net or gross, the line is not computable and scores 0 with the reason printed. Every line carries its price, its ounces and its read date so the arithmetic can be rerun.Prices are read on a schedule rather than live, and every price carries the date its channel was read. |
| Marketplace rating and buying signal | 15 | Two halves. Seven points from the rating pool: 7 x (rating / 5) x sqrt(min(ratings, 600) / 600), from the Amazon listing of the pack this site compares. Eight points from Amazon’s bought-in-past-month badge. Amazon describes that badge as its estimate of how many customers bought the item in the past month, and prints it as a floor (50+, 100+, 200+, 1K+). It is not a count of units shipped, not a count of distinct customers and not a market position, and it says nothing about quality or safety. We add the floors printed across every pack-size listing in the product’s Amazon variation family on the read date: 1,000 or more, 8; 300 to 999, 6; 100 to 299, 4; 50 to 99, 2; below that, or no badge on any listing read, 0. Two limits belong on the sum. A customer who bought two sizes can be counted on both listings, because Amazon does not publish the overlap. And a listing that served a bot check instead of a page is unknown rather than zero: the sum is taken over the listings that could be read, the line says how many that was, and an unread listing can only understate the band, never overstate it. One caution on the rating pool: Amazon removed a large number of reviews across the marketplace in 2026, and averages and counts on some listings moved noticeably as a result, so a figure read today is a reading of a moving number rather than a settled one. |
| Brand store rating, weighted by verified count | 5 | Points = 5 x (rating / 5) x log10(1 + verified reviews) / log10(501), capped at 5, from the review widget on the maker’s own product page. The two figures come from different sets, and the line says so. The rating is the store’s star average across every review the widget serves for the product, verified or not. The weight is the count of those reviews carrying the platform’s verified-purchase label, which the platform prints when it can match a review to an order in that shop; we page through the whole list and count the labels rather than estimating. The widget does not publish a star average of the verified reviews alone, so this line is not that: it is the all-reviews average, weighted by how many of the reviews behind it carry the verified-purchase label. A review without the label is not read as false. It is a review the platform could not tie to an order in that shop, for any of several ordinary reasons, and the line counts what the platform could tie rather than judging the rest. Where a store runs a widget that publishes no such label, no verified review can be counted and the line scores zero for want of evidence. Weight rises with the size of the verified base rather than saturating early, so 4.9 from 40 scores below 4.7 from 300. The ceiling is five points, a third of the marketplace line, for one reason: the seller decides which reviews appear on its own page at all. A brand with no direct store, or a store that publishes no reviews, scores zero here rather than losing points elsewhere. |
| Pack sizes you can pick from | 3 | Four or more pack sizes selectable from one page on the maker’s own store, with what comes in each spelled out, 3. Four or more on one page but only on a marketplace, or with the contents not stated per size, 2. Four or more split across separate pages so a buyer has to hunt for them, 1. Fewer than four anywhere, 0. One point comes off, never below zero, where the kit extras are sold as separate zero-priced items rather than being part of the pack, because ordering two packs then does not get you two guns. |
| How widely it is sold | 3 | Independent channels carrying the product on the read date, counting the maker’s own store, each marketplace and each third-party retailer: five or more, 3; four, 2; three, 1; two or fewer, 0. This replaced a criterion that scored own-store-plus-two-marketplaces and stopped there, which gave the same mark to a brand sold in three places and a brand sold in seven. It is a convenience measure and it sits in the smallest block on the card, because where a thing is sold is not evidence about the thing. |
Two rules shape the design. Missing evidence scores zero, never a negative, so a product with few points reads as undocumented rather than poor and can move up the day a document lands. Buyer feedback is capped at 20 against 30 for documentation, so a star average and an advertising budget cannot buy a position. Eight of the twenty feedback points read Amazon's bought-in-past-month badge, which is Amazon's estimate of recent purchasers on the listings we could read: not units shipped, not a market position, and not evidence about the foam. A listing Amazon would not serve is unknown rather than zero, and each line says how many listings were read.
Where the numbers come from. Documentation and traceability lines are read from each maker's data sheet, safety data sheet and manual, and from the listing fields on Amazon and Walmart. Price is cost per ounce of product at the pack each page compares, from a dated snapshot. Feedback is the platform rating scaled by review volume, saturating at 600 ratings, plus the badge band. Every awarded line on a product page shows the fact behind it.
How the arithmetic is rounded. Each criterion is computed from the inputs printed beside it and rounded to one decimal on its own; the rounded lines are then summed, and the sum is rounded once more to one decimal, which is the total the pages print. The three computed lines, price per ounce, marketplace rating and buying signal, and brand store rating, carry their raw inputs in the record, and a script, scripts/check-scoring.mjs, recomputes every one of them from the published formulas and reports any line whose points do not match.
| Kit | Product documentation | Claim traceability | What you get | Price per ounce of product | Buyer feedback | Buying options | Total | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kraken Bond FastCoat | 30 / 30 | 16 / 20 | 9 / 9 | 12.8 / 15 | 12.9 / 20 | 6 / 6 | 86.7 | Settled |
| Akfix ThermCoat | 23 / 30 | 17 / 20 | 9 / 9 | 14.3 / 15 | 14.4 / 20 | 6 / 6 | 83.7 | Watching |
| Stanley F990P SuperCoat | 29 / 30 | 16 / 20 | 9 / 9 | 14.5 / 15 | 8.3 / 20 | 3 / 6 | 79.8 | Watching |
| Sprayman SprayCoat | 23 / 30 | 12 / 20 | 9 / 9 | 15 / 15 | 12 / 20 | 4 / 6 | 75 | Watching |
| BEEST FullStop | 10 / 30 | 10.5 / 20 | 9 / 9 | 11.7 / 15 | 16.3 / 20 | 1 / 6 | 58.5 | Open |
| TYTAN Professional Thermospray | 22 / 30 | 17.5 / 20 | 9 / 9 | 6.7 / 15 | 0.4 / 20 | 2 / 6 | 57.6 | Watching |
| ixirpro Spray Foam Kit | 0 / 30 | 7.5 / 20 | 9 / 9 | 14.6 / 15 | 11.7 / 20 | 4 / 6 | 46.8 | Open |
| Magic Chems Spray Foam Kit | 0 / 30 | 11 / 20 | 7 / 9 | 13.6 / 15 | 8.1 / 20 | 5 / 6 | 44.7 | Open |
| Vega Bond SF001 Purplecoat (research set) | 0 / 30 | 9.5 / 20 | 7 / 9 | 12.6 / 15 | 9.6 / 20 | 4 / 6 | 42.7 | Open |
| Y’allCanDIY Spray Foam Insulation Kit (research set) | 6 / 30 | 9 / 20 | 9 / 9 | 10 / 15 | 4.3 / 20 | 3 / 6 | 41.3 | Open |
| BONDURE Spray Foam Insulation Kit (research set) | 0 / 30 | 8.5 / 20 | 9 / 9 | 13.9 / 15 | 0.9 / 20 | 1 / 6 | 33.3 | Open |
| BIGRIZY GUARD Spray Foam Insulation Kit (research set) | 0 / 30 | 5.5 / 20 | 9 / 9 | 14.8 / 15 | 1.5 / 20 | 2 / 6 | 32.8 | Open |
| Adhesive Guru QuickCoat (research set) | 0 / 30 | 10.5 / 20 | 9 / 9 | 0 / 15 | 6.4 / 20 | 5 / 6 | 30.9 | Open |
Each kit name links to its scored lines. The full comparison, with the reason behind every point, is on the kit ranking page.
Score and confidence
The score is what the documents support. The confidence level is what we think of that evidence, stated as opinion and kept out of the arithmetic on purpose, so that no view of ours can move a product up or down the order. Settled is rare on purpose: it means nothing about the evidence is left to ask.
| Level | What it means |
|---|---|
| Settled | The documents agree with each other and with the listings, and no question is outstanding. |
| Watching | The documents are there and we have asked the seller something we have not had an answer to. |
| Open | Core documents are missing or a headline claim cannot be checked at all. |
The score answers "what do the documents support?" The confidence level answers "how settled is our own record?" Keeping them apart means a reader can dispute either one on its own terms: the score by pointing at a document, the confidence level by pointing at a question we have left open. A short desk note beside each product says which question that is.
Evidence must match the product, formulation, size and tested application.
Videos are observations under the conditions shown, not a replacement for field testing. Brand demonstrations and sponsored creators are identified separately from independent evidence.
R-value stays attached to stated thickness and evidence; quantities, pack size and price use transparent units.
Verified, manufacturer-stated, under review, pending and unsupported claims remain visibly separate.
Advertising reach, sales signals and buyer feedback do not substantiate a fire claim. Each product needs traceable evidence for the exact claim and configuration. An unresolved report does not establish a failed test or another fire classification.
Evidence contract
Read three fields together: source type, product identity and the status of the particular claim.
| Field | Meaning | Limit |
|---|---|---|
| Listing claim | A seller or manufacturer webpage makes the statement. | Not an independently accepted performance result. |
| Manufacturer document | A linked TDS, SDS or manual has been read. | Each document has a different purpose; an SDS does not prove yield or a fire classification. |
| Report / listing evidence | An identifiable laboratory report, evaluation or certifier listing supports its stated scope. | Only the reviewed claim and configuration, not every use of the product. |
| Identity unresolved | The sold variant and source are not yet fully connected, or relevant fields conflict. | A clarification need, not a finding of fraud or poor performance. |
| Pending / unverified | We have not accepted sufficient traceable evidence for this claim. | Not a negative test result or a different classification. |
The short evidence label at the top of a product record is a summary of where that record stands, not a certification of any single claim. The dated document checks further down the same page name the narrower source and the questions still open.
Reviews and advertisements
Before publishing a review-derived quality conclusion, record the platform, exact variant, date window, selection rule, included and excluded counts, duplicates, disclosed incentives and missing installation conditions. A verified-purchase label does not verify installed thickness or long-term performance. No representative review sample or completed failure-rate study is claimed here.
Foam expansion is not a thermal test. A first-day review cannot establish multi-year durability, but lack of follow-up does not prove future failure either. Country of origin, a lower price and frequent advertising are not quality measurements. See how we read buyer reviews and expansion demonstrations for the full protocol.
Publication relationships
SprayFoamGuides is our sister publication under common ownership, not an independent third-party endorsement of this site's order. Product-specific material connections must be disclosed alongside any affected recommendation. A final comparative award requires completed evidence and relationship review; a provisional position does not bypass those requirements.
We accept public manufacturer pages, public technical documents and view-only evidence links. Submissions do not guarantee a score change; the research team checks exact-product relevance first.
Corrections policy
When a document, formulation, price snapshot or claim changes the comparison, we update the relevant status and publication date. No brand can pay for eligibility or a ranking position.