Provisional #8 · Limited evidence · Best Spray Foam research desk · Documents checked 2026-09-13

Magic Chems Spray Foam Insulation Kit 24-Pack Review

Magic Chems is last in the numbered order, at 53.3 cents an ounce on the 24-can kit the brand store had in stock on September 11, 2026, and what it does publish is worth reading closely. It does state an R-value: 5.66 an inch, in the FAQ on magicchems.com, on the badge above the price, in the calculator on the product page, in the description of all seven Amazon listings and on the chem2go listing. Six other kits on this site print exactly the same 5.66, and four of those six can name the dated sheet it is printed on. Magic Chems cannot: there is no technical data sheet, no safety data sheet and no fire claim on any channel. The coverage figure has the same shape. The calculator on the brand store works from 20 sq ft a can at one inch, which is where the 480 in the 24-pack title comes from, while the Specifications block on that same page answers Coverage with “Varies by kit size and application thickness”. The 2-can and 3-can foam packs carry the same “Covers up to 480 sq ft” title as the 24-can pack. On Amazon it rates 3.5 from 148, the lowest average of the ranked kits, with a 24 percent one-star share, the highest of the kits in the numbered order, though DAP and BONDURE run higher still outside it. Its own store shows 4.72 from 109 reviews and eight of those carry the platform’s verified-purchase label. The storefront behind it is shared with ixirpro and Y’allCanDIY.

Before you decide

Magic Chems Spray Foam Insulation Kit 24-Pack

Pack this page compares
24-Pack, 24 x 25.4 oz
Claimed coverage
480 sq ft at 1 in (claimed)
R-value as published
R-5.66 / in (store, no sheet)
Evidence
Limited evidence

Research summary, not a hands-on test. Product claims on this page are attributed to the sources and dates shown. Before use, read the exact product label, the current safety data sheet and the application instructions, and confirm ventilation, protective equipment, occupant isolation and re-entry or reoccupancy conditions. A surface-burning classification alone does not establish approval to leave foam exposed or to use it in a particular assembly.

Report a product error Score Maker’s description Documents Packs and prices Right of reply

Research desk note · editorial opinion, not a test result

What to check first

The figures are there, and none of them is anchored. magicchems.com prints R-5.66 per inch on the badge above the price, answers its own FAQ with “approximately 5.66 per inch of thickness”, and runs a calculator built on 20 sq ft a can at one inch, which is where the 480 in the 24-pack title comes from. The description on all seven Amazon listings repeats the 5.66. What sits behind any of it is nothing: no data sheet, no safety data sheet, no fire statement, no test method and no date, on any channel.

That 5.66 is the category default, not a finding about this foam. Six other kits on this site print exactly 5.66 per inch, and four of them can point at a dated sheet that prints it from a measured conductivity. The same value appears on these pages with no test report establishing its basis; read it as a number the category repeats rather than as a measurement of this foam.

The store’s own Specifications block is the tell. It lists Product Type, Foam Type, Application, Cure Time and Performance, and then answers Coverage with “Varies by kit size and application thickness”, on the same page whose calculator commits to 20 sq ft a can.

Stock moves on this one, so read the size before the price. The brand store lists seven pack sizes, and on September 11 only the 12 and the 24 were in stock; three days earlier only the 12 was. Amazon carries the 18 and the 24 as two separate listings, both live on September 11 and sharing one review pool, 3.5 stars from 147 ratings. Check the size you want is orderable on the day rather than assuming the pack in a photograph is the pack on sale.

Magic Chems is one of three brand names sold through one storefront, with a letter of authorization naming Demlar LLC as its buyer. The shared-seller note explains what that does and does not establish.

Best Spray Foam research desk ·

Research rating

What the documents support, out of 100

Desk confidence: Open
44.7of 100
  • Product documentation 0 / 30
  • Claim traceability 11 / 20
  • What you get 7 / 9
  • Price per ounce of product 13.6 / 15
  • Buyer feedback 8.1 / 20
  • Buying options 5 / 6
Every point, and the fact behind it
Technical data sheet 0 / 12 No data sheet on the brand store or the Amazon listing. The Specifications block on magicchems.com carries no figure at all: it answers Coverage with “Varies by kit size and application thickness”.
Safety data sheet 0 / 6 No safety data sheet published.
Fire evidence 0 / 12 No fire claim and no report.
Net contents per can 4 / 4 25.4 oz on the store and the listing.
Yield stated with its conditions 2 / 4 The calculator on magicchems.com works from 20 sq ft a can at one inch, which is where the 480 in the 24-pack title comes from. A thickness and nothing else: no layer, no distance, no speed. The 2-can and 3-can foam packs carry the same “Covers up to 480 sq ft” title as the 24-can pack.
R-value, published and how high 4 / 4 R-5.66 an inch, stated at a thickness in the FAQ on magicchems.com and repeated on the price badge, in the on-page calculator, in the description of all seven Amazon listings and on chem2go. No channel states a different figure, so 3 for publication, plus 1 for the magnitude. Six other kits here print the same 5.66 and four of them can name the sheet it is printed on.
Density published 0 / 4 No density published.
Maker identity 1 / 4 No contact block on the brand store. The letter of authorization names Demlar LLC, and the storefront is shared with IxirPro and Y’allCanDIY.
Equipment in the box 3 / 5 The store sells a kit at a higher price than the cans; what it contains is not itemized.
Material in the pack 4 / 4 24 cans at 25.4 oz, 609.6 oz of product, on the 24-can kit this page compares.
Pack sizes you can pick from 3 / 3 Seven pack sizes in one selector on the brand store, though five of the seven were out of stock on 2026-09-12.
How widely it is sold 2 / 3 Four channels on 2026-09-12: the brand store, Amazon, chem2go.com and Sears. Not found on Walmart.
Cost per ounce of product 13.6 / 15 324.99 dollars on the brand store for the 24-can kit this page compares, 609.6 oz, is 0.533 an ounce, against the 0.484 benchmark. Read 2026-09-11, the first day the 24-can kit was in stock on magicchems.com; on 2026-09-08 it was listed out of stock at 299.99 and the 12-can kit, in stock at 151.99 for 304.8 oz, was the only size that could be bought. Amazon lists the 24-can kit as ASIN B0DNXSVD3L with no price we could read.
Marketplace rating and buying signal 6.4 / 15 3.5 from 148 Amazon ratings on the pack this page compares, read 2026-09-12, worth 2.4 of the seven rating points. Bought-in-past-month badges on 3 of the 7 pack-size listings in the Amazon variation family of the 24-can kit, ASIN B0DNXSVD3L, add to 200, which is the 4-point band: the 18-can set at 100+, the 6-can foam-only pack at 50+ and the 2-can set at 50+. All 7 listings in the family were read on 2026-09-12.
Brand store rating, weighted by verified count 1.7 / 5 4.72 across 109 reviews on magicchems.com, read 2026-09-12, of which 8 carry the platform’s verified-purchase label, 7 percent. The average is over all 109; the 8 is the weight.

Why this confidence level · editorial opinion, not a test result

Core documents are missing or a headline claim cannot be checked at all. Everything it states, it states in page copy. R-5.66 an inch and 20 sq ft a can at one inch are both there, on the brand store, in every Amazon description and on chem2go, and neither is attached to a sheet, a method or a date. The 5.66 is the category default rather than a finding: six other kits here print the identical figure. The 2-can and 3-can foam packs are titled with the same “Covers up to 480 sq ft” the 24-can pack uses, which is the kind of error that costs a buyer a second order. A data sheet is the only thing that would move this score much, and there is none.

Scored on . The score is what the documents support; the confidence level is our view of that evidence and never changes the arithmetic. How the rating is built · All 13 scored side by side.

How the manufacturer describes it

Compiled from the brand store and the Amazon listing as they read on September 8, 2026, with pack availability and store prices re-read on September 11 and the store’s own performance figures re-read on September 13. It is the seller’s description, not ours.

  • A polyurethane expanding foam described as high-density closed-cell, for attics, crawl spaces, wall cavities, metal buildings, workshops, garages and rim joists, applied with a gun or a straw.
  • Adheres, by the store’s list, to wood, concrete, masonry, metal and rigid plastics.
  • Sold as foam only in 25.4 oz cans from 1 to 24, and as kits from 1 to 24 cans. On the store on September 11 the 12-pack was $189.99 and the 24-pack $324.99, and the 1, 2, 3, 6 and 18 packs were out of stock.
  • R-5.66 per inch and 20 sq ft a can at one inch, both in page copy on the brand store, with the 5.66 repeated in the description of all seven Amazon listings and on the chem2go listing. No fire statement, data sheet or safety data sheet on any channel we read.

Compiled from magicchems.com kit page and the brand's marketplace listing, read on .

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That fee never sets the order or the score.

Documents on file

What exists for this product, what each document says in its own terms, and what it leaves open. A document we have seen but the seller does not publish is described, not hosted.

  • Technical data sheet Not published on any channel we read

    Technical data sheet · read 2026-09-13

    Open:
    • No data sheet on magicchems.com or the Amazon listing. The store states R-5.66 per inch in its FAQ and 20 sq ft a can at one inch in its calculator, both in page copy with no method and no date, and its Specifications block answers Coverage with “Varies by kit size and application thickness”. No fire figure anywhere.
  • Safety data sheet Not published on any channel we read

    Safety data sheet · read 2026-09-08

    Open:
    • Not published on any channel we read.
  • Fire test report Not published on any channel we read

    Fire evidence · read 2026-09-08

    Open:
    • No fire claim is made and no report is published.

The FastCoat, SprayCoat, ThermCoat and SuperCoat documents state the same yield basis of 20 board feet at 1 inch, the same nozzle A for walls and nozzle B for ceilings, the same 1-inch layer advice with water misting between coats, and the same 24-hour cure with a 40-minute cutting time. The SprayCoat and ThermCoat data sheets also carry the same packaging line, 28.7 oz at a gross 2.05 lb with 12 to a box. We record that pattern and draw no conclusion from it: none of the four states a relationship with the others, and we have not established who manufactures any of them.

It does print numbers. Every one of them is page copy, and every one of them is the category’s

Fieldmagicchems.comAmazon listingWalmart
Pack on this page24-can kit at $324.99 on September 11, 2026, the pack this page compares and prices; the 12-can kit was $189.99 the same day24-can kit B0DNXSVD3L; 18-can set B0DNXTM6C2; foam packs of 2, 3 and 6 cansNot found on Walmart on September 8
Net contents per can25.4 oz25.4 ozNot stated
Stated coverage20 sq ft a can at 1 in in the calculator; the Specifications block says it varies20 a can on the 6, 18 and 24 can titles; the 2 and 3 can foam packs are titled 480 sq ftNot stated
Stated R-valueR-5.66 per inch, on the badge, in the FAQ and in the calculatorR-5.66 in the description of all seven listings, with no thickness givenNot stated
Fire statementNoneNoneNot stated
Pack ladderKits 1/2/3/6/12/18/24 at 37.99/49.99/55.99/99.99/151.99/206.99/299.99, all but the 12 out of stock; foam 16.99 to 197.99, all out of stockFoam in 2, 3 and 6 cans; sets in 2 and 18Not stated
Sold bymagicchems.comSeller of record not shown in our readNot stated

What the differences mean

Two cans sold as covering what twenty-four cover

The store works from 20 sq ft a can at one inch, and the 6, 18 and 24 can Amazon titles follow it: 120, 360 and 480 sq ft. The 2-can and 3-can foam packs are titled “Covers up to 480 sq ft”, the same area the 24-can pack claims.

Why it matters. A buyer sizing a 480 sq ft job from the 2-can title orders two cans for work that needs twenty-four. Nothing on the listing corrects it, and no fire statement exists on any channel either, which keeps the kit off the fire block and rim joist pages regardless.

Sources: magicchems.com kit page · Amazon listing B0DNXSVD3L

Stock and price move between reads

On September 8 the store listed the 24-can kit at $299.99, out of stock, and Amazon’s largest variation was an 18-can set. On September 11 the store had the 12-can kit at $189.99 and the 24-can kit at $324.99 in stock, and Amazon carried the 24-can kit as B0DNXSVD3L.

Why it matters. Price, stock and pack size change between reads. The score prices the 24-can kit at its September 11 store price, and every figure on this page carries its read date.

Sources: magicchems.com kit page · Amazon listing B0DNXSVD3L

One page build behind two storefronts

Observed on September 13, 2026: the coverage calculator on magicchems.com is served by a script whose function is named ixirproUpdate, and ixirpro.com carries the same calculator with the same figures. Inference: the two stores share one page build. Not established by this: anything about what is in either can.

Why it matters. A shared storefront explains why identical figures appear on both sites. It is a seller relationship, which the shared-seller note documents, and it is not evidence about the foam.

Sources: magicchems.com kit page · Research note: three brands, one storefront (September 7, 2026)

Three exact price matches with another brand

The Magic Chems kit ladder matches IxirPro’s 26.46 oz ladder at the 18-can size (206.99) and IxirPro’s 30 oz ladder at 6 and 24 cans (99.99 and 299.99), to the cent.

Why it matters. Prices set together are a seller relationship, which the shared-seller note documents; they say nothing about what is in the can.

Sources: magicchems.com kit page · Research note: three brands, one storefront (September 7, 2026)

In the box

  • Foam cans in the chosen count
  • A gun and cleaner in the kit versions, per the store’s kit naming
  • Contents not itemized on the store or the listing

The store distinguishes "kit" from "can" by price alone; what the kit adds is not listed. Ask before you pay the difference.

Listing signals

  • Amazon rating: 3.5 from 148 ratings on the 24-pack listing B0DNXSVD3L, a pool shared with the 2-can pack Platform-reported on September 12, 2026
  • Amazon rating spread: 48% five star, 13% four, 7% three, 8% two, 24% one Platform-reported distribution
  • Amazon category rank: #31 in Urethane Adhesives Platform-reported best sellers rank

The 24-pack listing this page compares shares its review pool with the 2-can pack: 3.5 from 148 with 24 percent at one star. The 12-pack kit is a separate listing, B0DNXTJQFG, with its own pool: 4.2 from 376 with 7 percent at one star. Two records in our set carry a higher one-star share than the 24-pack pool. Platform figures, not a sample we drew. How we weigh ratings and demos: reviews, ads and expansion demos. How we read a fire claim: ASTM E84 and Class A. How coverage units work: coverage and yield.

Each source read on the date shown: magicchems.com kit page, read 2026-09-13 · Amazon listing B0DNXSVD3L, read 2026-09-08 · Research note: three brands, one storefront (September 7, 2026), read 2026-09-07. Prices sit in the pack table below, each with the date it was read.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That fee never sets the order or the score.

Pack sizes

Choose a pack only after matching the exact product, required volume and included equipment. Larger boxes do not automatically cost less per usable board foot. Check pack identity and bundle contents.

18-Pack Smaller pack option
360 board feet claimed · 18 x 25.4 oz
24-Pack Kit we compare
480 board feet claimed · 24 x 25.4 oz
Where to buy - and why

Not listed on Walmart; Amazon holds the largest feedback pool. Confirm your gun accepts the can threads before ordering extra cans.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That fee never sets the order or the score. Official stores pay us nothing, and which seller we point to does not change because of the fee.

Product overview

Magic Chems positions its kit as a professional-grade DIY insulation system for air sealing and a durable layer of thermal insulation (its own word is "thermal barrier", which in the building code means a protective covering over foam, not the foam) - for attics, crawl spaces, walls, metal buildings, garages and rim joists. The kit ships with a Teflon-coated gun, cleaner and safety gear.

Manufacturer-stated features

  • High-density closed-cell - manufacturer
  • Air sealing for cracks, gaps and penetrations - manufacturer
  • For attic, crawl space, wall, metal building, garage and rim joist
  • Kit includes Teflon-coated gun, cleaner and safety gear
  • No data sheet, safety sheet or fire statement on any channel

Overview synthesized from the brand’s official page and the Amazon listing. Specifications are manufacturer claims, not independently verified.

The 24-pack claims about 480 board feet at ~1 inch (an 18-pack is also sold, ~360). Buyers report modest real coverage (around 6 cans for half an inch on a 7x12 wall), so plan generously.

What buyers actually say

Ratings on Amazon

3.5 from 148 ratings24-pack kit, one pool shared with the 2-can pack

4.2 from 376 ratings12-pack kit, a separate listing with its own pool

Read September 8, 2026.

Reviews on the brand’s own shop, and how many carry the verified-purchase label

Few of these carry the verified-purchase label

8 of 109 reviews on magicchems.com are matched to an order in that shop. The other 101 are not.

7%

Few of them carry the label: 8 of the 109 reviews. The 4.72 is averaged over all 109, and there is no data sheet behind this kit to read beside it.

A shop’s own star rating is the number its seller controls most completely. This is how much of it the review platform could match to a real order placed in that shop. Verified means the platform matched the review to an order in that shop. Unverified does not mean false: it can be a buyer who ordered on a marketplace, a review imported from another platform, or one collected outside the shop’s checkout. Which of those applies is not published, so a reader cannot tell. Counted one page at a time on September 12, 2026.

Mixed on the 24-pack listing this page compares, 3.5 from 148 with 24 percent at one star; the separate 12-pack listing reads 4.2 from 376. Can-to-gun fit and coverage are the main gripes.

Stands out: One buyer picked it as the first of four brands tried that covered properly.

Buyers praise

  • Complete kit, with several exceeded-expectations reviews
  • Adheres and sprays well when directions are followed
  • Very large buyer-feedback base

Buyers complain

  • Some can threads seat poorly in certain guns
  • Coverage lower than hoped (about 6 cans for half an inch on a 7x12 wall)
  • Best used can-inverted; shipping leaks reported

Buyer tip: Confirm can-thread and gun compatibility, and keep the can upside down in use.

Amazon showed 3.5 from 148 ratings on September 12, 2026 for the pack this page compares, with 24 percent of them at one star. The lines above are recurring themes across published reviews, weighted toward verified purchases, rather than verbatim quotes. How we read them.

What stands out

  • 53.3 cents an ounce on the 24-can kit, priced with the documented kits
  • Seven pack sizes in one selector, and four channels carry it
  • States an R-value and a per-can coverage figure, which several kits at this price do not

Open questions

  • No data sheet, no safety sheet, no fire claim
  • The R-5.66 it prints is the figure six other kits print, with no document behind it here
  • The 2-can and 3-can foam packs are titled “Covers up to 480 sq ft”, the same as the 24-can pack
  • Its own Specifications block answers Coverage with “Varies by kit size and application thickness”
  • 3.5 from 148 on Amazon with a 24 percent one-star share, the highest of the kits in the numbered order
  • 8 of the 109 reviews on its own store carry the verified-purchase label

Best for

Seeing what the documented kits at the same price per ounce give you in paperwork that this one does not.

Not for

Anyone who needs the number on the label to be traceable to a test rather than repeated from the category.

All pack sizes & where to buy

PackClaimed coverageAmazonOfficial
18-PackMost chosen 360 bd ft (18 x 25.4 oz) Check price Store
24-PackCompared 480 bd ft (24 x 25.4 oz) Check price Store

Amazon links are per-size. Official links open the brand store, where you pick the size. Prices and availability change - always confirm on the retailer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That fee never sets the order or the score.

Usage videos

Videos may include manufacturer-produced footage; shown for application reference, not as independent test results.

Questions and answers

Questions about Magic Chems Spray Foam Insulation Kit 24-Pack

Answered from this product’s documents and listings, the same records the rest of this page is built from.

Ask your own
  1. Will Magic Chems cans fit my spray gun? From the records

    Some buyers found the can threads seat poorly in certain guns. Confirm can-thread and gun compatibility before ordering extra cans.

  2. How much wall does the kit cover? From the records

    The 24-pack claims about 480 board feet at ~1 inch (an 18-pack is also sold, ~360), but buyers report modest real coverage (around 6 cans for half an inch on a 7x12 wall), so plan generously.

  3. Any application tips? From the records

    Confirm can orientation, substrate preparation and temperature limits in the exact current label and technical data sheet. Review anecdotes are not a substitute for product instructions.

Jobs where this kit is one of the products we list

Each of these pages sets out the constraint that decides the product for that assembly, the code section that applies, and a worked quantity example.

  • Metal Buildings Names metal buildings and workshops on its own list of uses. It states 20 sq ft a can at one inch in the calculator on its own store, and that figure sits in page copy with no sheet behind it. Its 2-can and 3-can foam packs are titled with the same “Covers up to 480 sq ft” the 24-can pack uses. Read the record before you size a building on it.

Magic Chems has a right of reply

Everything on this page is a dated reading of documents that can change. If you make or sell this product, or you have read something here that is wrong, send the document. Every submission is read against the record; where it changes the record, the change is dated on the page, and where it does not, the reply says why. A submission cannot buy a position or remove a finding the documents still support, and what moves a record is written down.

Write to the research desk or copy research@beestsprayfoam.com